Facebook Instagram Pinterest YouTube Google+ Twitter Film Search iOS Android Cookie Cookie Cytat Mój festiwal Mój festiwal Home Kalendarz Kalendarz Kalendarz Kalendarz Facebook Twitter Google Plus Zamknij Nawiguj Miejsca festiwalowe Organizatorzy Organizatorzy Partnerzy Kraków Wyślij

May will be ours


Henrik Lindström – winner of the FMF Young...


Hubert Walkowski wins the 2019 FMF Young Talent Award!

The seventh edition of the international competition for young composers, announced and decided within the Krakow Film Music Festival, has been won by a student of the Karol Lipiński Academy of Music in Wrocław! The winning suite by Hubert Walkowski for a fragment of the film Spoor will be performed during the Scoring4Polish Directors concert, which will take place on 16th May in the ICE Kraków Congress Centre.

The jury, chaired by Richard Bellis, a composer, educator, Emmy Award winner and member of the board of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Performers (ASCAP), also decided that the second place in this year's competition went to Piotr Szuber and third place to Jeffrey van Rossum. The success of the winners is all the more significant because they competed in a select group of artists from a dozen or so countries, such as Austria, Canada, China, Colombia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Serbia, Switzerland, Ukraine, US and the United Kingdom.

The composition of the jury evaluating the competition works also included Rebecca Morellato (Vice-President for Film Music at 20th Century Fox film studio), Magdalena Wojewoda-Mleczko (Music Director of Radio RMF Classic, co-organiser of the Krakow Film Music Festival), Mateusz Bień (composer, sound engineer, software developer, Academy of Music in Krakow), Dan Goldwasser (soundtrack producer and journalist, founder of ScoringSessions.com), Antoni Komasa-Łazarkiewicz (composer, author of the original soundtrack to the film Spoor), Krzysztof Zanussi (film, theatre and opera director) and Robert Piaskowski (Artistic Director of the Krakow Film Music Festival).

The works were evaluated in terms of technical (observing the scale of instruments and proper keys, indicating the cast and number of performers, the method of including notation with the notes, rhythm grouping, presence of dynamic and articulatory signs, etc.) and artistic (including the originality of musical language, interesting interpretation of the plot, accurate adjustment of music to the image). The winners of the competition will take part in closed workshops in the Krzysztof Penderecki European Centre for Music in Lusławice and in open panels of the FMF Audiovisual Forum.

The main objective of the FMF Young Talent Award competition is to select talented composers of the young generation and present their achievements to the general public, as well as to representatives of the world film industry. To date, the winners have included Matthijs Kieboom (2013), Jan Sanejko (2014), Antonio Di Iorio (2015), Joep Sporck (2016), Paweł Górniak (2017) and Marco Valerio Antonini (2018).

Text: Michael Łyczek

Hubert Walkowski

Hubert Walkowski was born in 1995 in Nowa Sól. His adventure with music began with learning to play the piano at the Grażyna Bacewicz Primary School of Music in Nowa Sól. In 2018, he completed a three-year bachelor’s degree in artistic education in the field of musical art at the Institute of Music of the University of Zielona Góra. Since 2017, he has been creating his own compositions and arrangements. Wishing to broaden his knowledge, he decided to begin compositional studies. Currently, he is a first-year student of composition at the Karol Lipiński Academy of Music in Wrocław. He is developing his skills in this field under the supervision of dr hab. Marcin Bortnowski. As he says himself, his inspiration for creation is human inner nature – full of contrasting emotions: “I strive to reflect emotions as accurately as possible in the music that I want to share and which – I deeply believe – must be shared”.

Piotr Szubert

Violinist, composer of Roma origin. He studied at the S. Moniuszko Academy of Music in Gdańsk (Instrumental Faculty in the class of prof. Krystyna Jurecka). Winner of national competitions (solo violin), international symphony orchestra competitions, distinctions in chamber music competitions, participant of international master classes. As a violinist, he gave concerts in Poland, Germany, Czechia, France and Spain. In his career, he has collaborated with such personalities of the world of music as Krzysztof Penderecki, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Krzesimir Dębski, Krystyna Jurecka, Konstanty Andrzej Kulka, Jadwiga Kaliszewska, Mikołaj Stroiński and Andrzej Kacprzak. Participant of the FMF Young Talent Award 2018. Author of over 40 genre-differentiated compositions – orchestral, chamber, electronic, ethnic and vocal music.

Jeffrey van Rossum

In 2010, Jeffrey van Rossum completed his master's degree in the Netherlands. Since then he has been composing music for feature films and documentaries, television series, commercials, animations, games and music libraries. He wants to support film history as much as possible with his music, expressing with it also those subconscious emotions that are difficult to see directly on the screen. In 2016, Jeffrey won the Transatlantyk Film Music Competition, a prestigious competition at the Transatlantyk Festival in Łódź. Since 2018, Jeffrey has been composing music for the Dutch series Soof. This year, he is also working on his first feature film. Jeffrey was already a finalist in the Young Talent Award competition in 2015.