Facebook Instagram Pinterest YouTube Google+ Twitter Film Search iOS Android Cookie Cookie Cytat Mój festiwal Mój festiwal Home Kalendarz Kalendarz Kalendarz Kalendarz Facebook Twitter Google Plus Zamknij Nawiguj Miejsca festiwalowe Organizatorzy Organizatorzy Partnerzy Kraków Wyślij

Henrik Lindström – winner of the FMF Young...


Live from studio on FMF online


The 10th FMF award winners revealed

Robert Townson – one of the world’s most prolific film music producers, strategic partner of the Film Music Festival in Krakow Since its first edition was awarded the prestigious title of the FMF Ambassador 2017. This year the statuette of the FMF Young Talent Award goes to the Polish composer and sound designer – Paweł Górniak.

The title of the FMF Ambassador has been awarded for the fourth time. In previous years, the awards for prominent figures in the world of music and film who promoted our festival went to Nancy Knutsen, for many years assistant to John Williams; Diego Nawarro, an outstanding composer and conductor, a great friend of the FMF, and Professor Daniel Carlin, CEO at Segue Music, director of film and TV scoring studies at the Thornton School of Music, Southern California, and the Chair of the Jury of the FMF Young Talent Award.


This year, the brass statuette to Stanisław Juszczak’s design, representing two wheels setting one another in motion, goes to Robert Townson -- a true legend of film music. The American producer has nearly 1,400 records to his credit. Throughout over thirty years of his career, he has worked with the greatest music talents in Hollywood, including Hans Zimmer, Howard Shore, Henry Mancini, Alexandre Desplat, Jerry Goldsmith, Alan Silvestri, John Debney, Alex North, Marco Beltrami and Patrick Doyle. The collection of his music productions includes such masterpieces as Peter Weir’s Dead Poets Society, Paul Verhoeven’s Basic Instinct, M. Night Shyamalan’s The Sixth Sense, Doug Liman’s The Bourne Identity and Denis Villeneuve‘s Sicario. Townson is a producer of albums with music for blockbuster animated films (e.g Babe, Kung Fu Panda 2, How to Train Your Dragon) and TV series (Game of Thrones, House of Cards, Penny Dreadful, 24 Hrs, The Tudors). Varèse Sarabande he founded is now considered the greatest and the most prestigious film, TV and video game music production company. In 2013 the company celebrated its 35th anniversary. An unprecedented number of film music stars, including Hans Zimmer, John Powell and Danny Elfman, gathered on that occasion at the Golden State Pop Orchestra Gala.


In the justification of the decision to award Robert Townson the title of the FMF Ambassador 2017 we can read: ”his work is guided not only by market-oriented film industry criteria, but first and foremost by the criterion of a high artistic value, performing perfection, faithfulness to the original, and partnership cooperation with composers and artists during recording sessions.” The winner of the prestigious award is ranked among the most distinguished promoters and co-operators of film festivals around the world. He has been associated with the Film Music Festival in Krakow for its eight editions as an expert of the Audiovisual Forum, advisor and mentor on programme matters, and, since 2015, also as a publishing partner and curator of the FMF record series.


The golden statuette of FMF Young Talent Award 2017 was handed to the Polish composer and sound designer – Paweł Górniak. The winner of the fifth edition of the competition for young film artists is a versatile musician; his interests range from classical music to rock, jazz, folk, pop, electronic and hip-hop. He currently works as a producer and author of soundtracks for film and commercials, he also deals with sound effect design and audio post-production. He is a reviewer of emuzyk.pl, Poland’s largest Internet platform devoted to musical equipmment


The contestants in this year’s Young Talent Award were assigned with the task to create a soundtrack involving symphonic orchestra and choir to NBC’s recent fantasy serial Emerald City, with the original music written by Trevor Morris, a special guest of the 10th Film Music Festival. The composer also sat on the Jury which was chaired by Professor Daniel Carlin. The FMF Ambasador2017 Robert Townson; Michael Todd, Director of Film and TV Music at the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers(ASCAP); Doreen Ringer-Ross, Vice President Film, TV & Visual Media Relations at Broadcast Music, Inc., as well as composers Trevor Morris and Jean-Michel Bernard, music producers Mina Korzeniowska and Christ Brown, the latter representing West One Music, and on behalf of the Festival organisers, Magdalena Wojewoda-Mleczko, RMF Classic Programme Director and Robert Piaskowski, FMF Artistic Director, also took part in the Jury debates.


Paweł Górniak, the winner of the top award, joined the group of composers whose music was performed at the FMF All is Film Music Jubilee Gala. He also received an extra bonus -- the award funded by Costa Communications, a leading American PR agency: private consultation to prepare him to the starting of music career in Hollywood. ”Ray Costa, who represents such stars as Alan Menken, Justin Timberlake, Alexandre Desplat and U2, will prompt our award-winner how to start career in the Dream Factory successfully. He will review his music, share with him the methods of self-promotion in the film industry, and introduce him to at least one agent operating in Hollywood. In one word– he will introduce him to the high society of the contemporary cinema” – explains Robert Piaskowski, the FMF Artistic Director.