Facebook Instagram Pinterest YouTube Google+ Twitter Film Search iOS Android Cookie Cookie Cytat Mój festiwal Mój festiwal Home Kalendarz Kalendarz Kalendarz Kalendarz Facebook Twitter Google Plus Zamknij Nawiguj Miejsca festiwalowe Organizatorzy Organizatorzy Partnerzy Kraków Wyślij

Henrik Lindström – winner of the FMF Young...


Live from studio on FMF online

Home FMF Awards

Winner 2015 - Antonio di Iorio

The international jury headed by Professor Daniel Carlin, the director of the Scoring for Motion Pictures and Television Programme at the University of Southern California, first place was awarded to Antonio Di Iorio (Italy.)
Second place went to Kristjan Bergey (Canada) and Moritz Schmittat (United Kingdom), while third place was not awarded. The winner received his award during the International TV Series Gala at the Tauron Arena, in front of an audience of TV composers, Hollywood guests and closer to 12,000 viewers gathered at the concert, who heard the winning suite composed for a fragment of an episode of the cult series The Borgias. The award was presented by Izabela Helbin, the director of the Krakow Festival Office, and Robert Piaskowski, the FMF artistic director. Congratulations to the winners!

In previous years, nearly 160 composers from 16 countries worked on the composition for the animation The Dark Side of the Moon and to the bestselling video game Bioshock Infinite. This time, young artists took on the series format. The competition task was to compose music for a fragment of an episode from the series The Borgiaswhich tells the history of one of the most powerful families of Renaissance Rome – Pope Alexander VI Borgia and his children. Written and directed by Neil Jordan (Mona Lisa SmileInterview with the Vampire), the scope of the production, excellent set design, costumes, and first-rate cast (including Jeremy Irons) garnered the production international success. The series was nominated for 13 Emmy Awards, including one for the music by Trevor Morris, a Canadian composer working with the best directors and producers of the film industry, including Jerry Bruckheimer, Neil Jordan, as well as Tony and Ridley Scott. Morris was one of the jury members of this year’s competition, raising its prestige.

In addition to Daniel Carlin and Trevor Morris, the international jury which judged the entries included: Robert Townson, head of the largest film music record label, Varèse Sarabande, Michael Todd, Senior Director of Film and Television Music at the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), Doreen Ringer-Ross, Vice-President of Film and TV at BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.), Richard Guérin , Philip Glass’ music consultant, Paweł Pawlik, Deputy Programming Director at RMF Classic, and Robert Piaskowski, artistic director of the Film Music Festival in Krakow.

The main prize is the FMF Young Talent Award statuette, designed by Krakow artist Stanisław Juszczak, as well as the presentation of the winning score by a full symphonic orchestra during the International TV Series Gala in front of an almost 12,000 person audience and the most important composers of TV music from Hollywood and Europe.

In the summary of the verdict, Professor Carlin pointed out that:

Our first-place winner this year is further proof that film scoring is a global phenomenon. Antonio Di Iario hails from Italy, where he created and submitted an extraordinary musical cue that captures both the overall mood and dramatic arc of the scene, while also elegantly complementing the scene’s many shifts of perspective and emotion.  

“The level of this year’s competition was extremely high. We received nearly 100 submissions from 22 countries. 26 composers qualified for the final, and they also participated in the cycle of workshops and master classes led by experts from Hollywood. This shows that the FMF has become an interesting platform for the development of professional education of young composers,” said Robert Piaskowski, originator of the competition.

54 composers participated in the first edition of the competition; the jury selected the submission of Dutch composer Matthijs Kieboom as the winner, with honours also going to Antonio Di Iorio (Italy), Łukasz Pieprzyk and Tomasz Opałka (Poland). In 2014, the jury selected Jan Sanejka and Maciej Dobrowolski (Poland) and Joep Sporck (Netherlands) from almost 90 submissions.

“After the first two editions of the competition, we know that the winner stands before an open door to a career in the film industry. Antonio Di Iorio entered the contest again, demonstrating his willpower and determination and winning the competition. This shows that the prestige of the award and the authority of the jury make the award one of the most important honours for young creators in the film industry. The winner of the first edition, Matthijs Kieboom, signed a contract with the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, and is today one of the most acclaimed young composers in the Netherlands. Last year’s winner, Jan Sanejko from Poland, is successfully developing his music career. Di Iorio is an experienced young creator, recording more and more serious projects. We are very pleased with his win,” said Piaskowski, artistic director of the FMF.


FMF Young Talent Award

See more